RHS Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees

Rossford Schools is thrilled to be able to announce the newest members to its Athletic Hall of Fame during a Dec. 17 ceremony during the varsity basketball game.
Roye Durden (Class of 1986), Zachary Leahy (Class of 2010), Coach Dave Matthews, and Matt Urie (Class of 2004) will be recognized at halftime of the game.
Durden was a star on the basketball court and was named the Northern Lakes League MVP in 1986. After graduating from the University of Toledo, Durden has worked in the Pediatric Behavioral Unit at Toledo Hospital and is a social worker helping youth deal with drug abuse.
Leahy did it all playing basketball, soccer, baseball and golf. He especially excelled on the hardwood though with 1st Team NLL, District 7 Coaches Association Player of the Year, Northwest Ohio DII Player of the Year, and State of Ohio First Team his senior year. He also has scored 1,111 career points which is fifth all time in RHS history.
Matthews coached varsity girls basketball from 1988-1995 and won the NLL Championship in 1993 and Sectional Championships in 1993 and 1994. Three times he was the Northwest Ohio District 7 Coach of the year from 1993-1995. He also was Assistant Cross Country Coach and taught art in Rossford from 1966-1996.
Urie is one of two Bulldogs in history to compete in the Ohio High School State Boys Golf Tournament. In 2004 he helped the team win the sectional tournament and shot a 75 in districts to secure an individual spot in the state tournament. He is currently a Firefighter/Paramedic for Cleveland Hopkins Airport Fire Department and is a Lead Paramedic Instructor for Auburn Career Center. He also holds a United States Golf Association 0.8 Handicap.

Print This Article
© 2022. Rossford Schools. All Rights Reserved.
View text-based website